I think the last time I ate here was at least 3-4 years ago… But after seeing a few Instagram posts about their XLB, my parents and I decided to go for lunch! [sorry… another late review! this one is about 2 months old]When we got there, it was a little before 12pm, the small tables were already taken. But we didn’t mind sharing tables, so we were seated at the large round table. A little while after it hit 12pm, the people started coming in and lining up. So if you don’t want to wait, I’d suggest coming early (before 12pm)!

inside
In the photo above, you can see that their awards are posted on the wall.

Here is the menu: (click for larger view)
menu

Wine Chicken ($7.95)
wine-chicken
Served in a super cute little bowl/ container! However, not the best I’ve had. It was very heavy in Shanghai pickle sauce (糟鹵), but lacked wine flavour… The chicken itself did have a nice texture though.

Hot and sour soup ($6.95)
hot-and-sour-soup
The flavour was really good! It wasn’t too sour or too spicy. And I could taste that they black pepper in it.

Shanghai Style Pan Fried Thick Noodles ($9.50)
shanghai-style-pan-fried-thick-noodles
Flavour was alright, and I liked that it wasn’t too oily. But they could’ve been more generous with the meat.

Steamed Mini Pork Buns – XLB ($6.50)
xlb
The texture of the skin is a little chewier and just different from the normal skin – but that was what keeps it from breaking. The skin was thin but it did not tear easily. It didn’t even break or stick when I picked it up with my chopsticks after it was cooled!! The filling was light, yummy, and traditional. Note that 1 of them was already broken when it was brought to our table… Another photo so you can see the thickness of the skin (and you may be able to see the difference of the texture as well):
xlb-inside

Pan-Fried Dumplings ($6.50)
pan-fried-dumplings
I wasn’t a fan of these. I personally prefer thinner skin, and the bottom wasn’t crispy at all. Here’s a photo of the inside:
pan-fried-dumplings-inside

Tan Tan With Meat Sauces Noodles ($7.95)
tan-tan-with-meat-sauce-noodles
As the name already states, this is a hybrid between meat sauce (炸醬麵) and tantan (擔擔麵) noodles. It had a light peanutty sauce, a light meat sauce, and it had a slight sweetness to it. It was alright, but personally wasn’t a fan because neither one of the flavours were strong enough for my liking… It was like none of the flavours really stood out to me. I guess my taste buds were a little confused because I wanted to taste more peanut sauce and more meat sauce, but all I got was a rather light mix of the two LOL


OVERALL: 7/10

Food was pretty good, service ranged from good to bad…

Service can be pretty bad. They were significantly nicer to certain tables, and rude and impatient with others. I could tell they were getting annoyed that I was taking my time taking pictures of my food, since that meant we would be hogging the table for longer than we should. But my dad was able to befriend the servers so they kind of just joked about me taking photos and seemed less annoyed LOL

Food-wise, our favourites from what we tried were the XLB and the Hot and Sour Soup! However, the other foods were just average to good.

I probably won’t be returning any time soon due to it’s location and because the food isn’t that outstanding.

ps. their Crispy Rice With Salty Egg Sauce – 鹹蛋黃鍋巴 ($13.95)  smelled sooo good but really pricey considering the cheap ingredients needed to make that, so we didn’t order it :c

Long's Noodle House Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato